What to do with your leftover annual leave

Apparently, I’m not the only one who left a large chunk of annual leave unused right up until the last few months of 2017 (oops).

According to a recent study, a third of employees in the UK have as many as 10 days still to use before the year is over. 10 days! All those times we’ve cried out “God, I need a break” and there’s 10 perfectly usable days right there waiting for us.

34% of respondents in the study stated that they had not used these much-deserved days off purely because they just didn’t know what to do with them. The same goes for me – I’d been so busy and caught up in work and social life that I, quite simply, forgot about all the annual leave I had left. I mean, I’d had a holiday in Sicily and time off for my birthday – what more could I possible do?

I’ll tell you what I did (and what you should also do if you have so much annual leave lying around that it overwhelms you). I booked an entire week off work for one of those exotic-sounding staycations that seemed to be all the rage last year.

You think I’m joking but I’m really not. I am going to have a blissful staycation and I’m going to tick off all of those things I’ve wanted to do for ages but “just haven’t had the time”. I have no excuse now, an entire week is all the time I need to get out and about in London (or in my flat) and devote my energy to me-time!

So, in case you’re in need of a little inspiration yourself, here are some of the things I plan to do with my week-long staycation…

Get my creative pants on

I love painting and sketching (you can check some of my art out here) but by the time I get home from work the last thing I want to do is dedicate three hours to creating my next masterpiece. Dinner and a few episodes of my latest Neflix addiction is all I can manage most evenings. So I will use my time off to improve my skills and add to my portfolio.

Run, Laura, run! 

OK, so maybe not running as I find it so boring but I will make the effort to achieve some of my fitness goals (i.e. actually getting off my arse and doing some exercise).

Bake a cake (and eat it)

For my birthday in September, my family bought me lots of baking utensils and a copy of Candice Brown’s book Comfort. Thus far, all I’ve made is blueberry drizzle cake. Although tasty, it was easy peasy and I feel I need to attempt a more challenging recipe if I’m going to get anywhere near the next series of GBBO.

Become a tourist

There are plenty of art galleries and museums I’m yet to visit. When you live in London you tend to spend a lot more time exploring the city’s bars and restaurants rather than the cultural sites.

Christmas shopping

I won’t give out too many details as my family do read this blog (well, Mum and Dad do at least – hi guys!). But, yes, I will be getting into the festive spirit and sourcing some gifts.

Read in places that aren’t my bed or my sofa

Coffee shops, libraries, parks (if it’s not too freezing, which it probably will be) – I am going to get through one or two of these books in various London locations.

Go to see Loving Vincent 

My other half pretended he was interested in seeing the world’s first ever fully painted feature film but I know he was actually thinking “shut up you arty farty weirdo and let’s go see Blade Runner 2049”. So, I’m going to watch it by myself.

Catch up with friends

I’m not going to become a complete recluse for the week. I will spend some time with my nearest and dearest. My pal Megan has even offered to make me a chicken pie one evening (what a doll).

Upcycle something 

This is possible a little too ambitious but I’ve always wanted to upcycle something! First I need to find a piece of furniture that needs upcycling and then figure out what the hell I’m meant to do with it.

Write things for you lovely people to read 

You’re welcome!

My list could go on but I realise that my week off will probably fly by from attempting a mere fraction of this list. My point is that there is plenty you can do with all that pending annual leave. Just because you haven’t got the time or money to plan a trip abroad does not mean that you can’t book off a few days just for you. Doesn’t that sound like heaven?

If you want to spy on what I get up to next week during my time off you can follow me on Instagram.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    Haha, I know the feeling… somehow I always end up with spare annual leave days by the end of the year… so last week I scheduled in all days until Christmas. In addition to the 5 days that were already in the diary, I had another 4.5 days left, so that’s a whopping 9.5 days of annual leave until Christmas… how can this even be possible?
    But unlike you I usually opt for random days of ‘me-time’ throughout the coming weeks rather than a full week in one piece. But yes, my list is equally long (and probably far too ambitious), but baking (Christmas cookies) and Christmas shopping sure are two of the biggies on that list… along with writing blog posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment